IUTAM CSTAM Site Map Contact Us
  About AFMC
  History of AFMC
  Young Scientist Awards
  Coming Conference
  Other Links

December, 2010

The 13th Asian Congress on Fluid Mechanics was held in Dhaka on 17-21 December, 2010. More than 250 participants from 20 countries, including IndiaChina, JapanBangladesh, Australia, Iran, Vietnam, Korea, Indonesia, SingaporeHong KongSri Lanka, Russia, Nigeria, Canada , Denmark, Norway, Finland, USA and UK, all over the world took part in the meeting.

In order to celebrate the grand event of the 30th anniversary of ACFM, 3 memorial, 4 plenary lectures and 7 invited speakers were arranged. According to the theme "Natural and human-induced hazard mitigation", 3 mini-symposia were set up, for the first time, in the congress. Altogether227 invited and contributed papers on traditional as well as new frontier issues in fluid dynamics and their applications were presented at the meeting.

The success of the 13th ACFM is due to satisfactory collaboration between AFMC and the local organizing committee led by Professor A.K.M. Sadrul Islam of Islamic University of Technology.

As usual, we have two regular meetings of AFMC during the period and a bi-annual report to the committee was given by Chairman, Professor Li. By comprehensive consideration, AFMC has finally decided that the 14th ACFM will be held in Hanoi, Vietnam in the autumn, 2013.


August, 2008

The 12th Asian Congress of Fluid Mechanics was held in Daejeon, Korea, on August 18-21.

270 participants were from Korea, Japan, China, India, Iran, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Netherlands, Oman, Pakistan, Russia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, USA, Vietnam etc.
220 papers were presented at the congress including 6 plenary lectures and 8 invited lectures, which could be found on the AFMC web page (http://www.afmc.org.cn/acfm_12.htm).

At the congress, it has been decided through AFMC consultation that the 13th ACFM will be held in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

The Zhou-Sato-Narasimha Asian Young Scientist Award in Fluid Mechanics, sponsored by Asian Fluid Mechanics Committee and TSI incorporated was awarded for the first time at the Congress, which had been conferred on Dr. Meheboob Alam of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research as recognition ^his outstanding contributions to several aspects of the fluid mechanics of granular flows ̄. Please click here to see details of the award.

Group picture of 12ACFM

Opening Ceremony of 12ACFM

Award Ceremony of 12ACFM

Closing Ceremony of 12ACFM


August, 2007

The 12th ACFM will be held on Aug. 18-21 in Daejoen, Korea. The website of the congress is: http://12acfm.kaist.ac.kr


May, 2007

AFMC has initiated the nomination of candidates for ^Asian Young Fluid Mechanics Scientist Award ̄.

The program has been carried out in 3 sub-regions,: Middle-East and South Asia, Malaysia peninsula, other Asian countries and regions led by Viswanath PR (India), Li Jiachun (China), Fukunishi Y (Japan) and Sung JH (Korea), respectively. Less than 4 nominatees for each region were selected by the end of Aug, 2007.

Please download nomination form from the website: http://www.afmc.org.cn/awards.htm and submit the materials concerned to corresponding persons.


Copyright © 2004-06 by Asian Fluid Mechanics Committee. All rights reserved.
This website is best viewed by 1024 x 768 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0 or above.